An affair to remember…

I saw him at a plush mall a year back, ever since I have been unable to take my thoughts off him. He stood out like no other, penetrative, soulful yet savvy. Our eyes met for a few seconds, there was that spark, a sudden one, instinctive,unforced. The sparks flew in all directions. I almost went up to him, to make a proposition, like an indecent proposal with a slight reversal of roles.I was Robert Redford, he was Demi Moore. This was not a one night stand, I hoped it would not be, this was a committment for a life.I stopped in my tracks, should I? Should I not? I turned away, I did not look back at him again. It was a bit too early. I have to give it more time I thought. I need to get to know him better, I have barely seen him I mumbled. So, how could I lock us both together just as yet. I decide, I had to wait. My heart ached, there was a terrible pain, deep inside the cavity of my heavy heart there was a vacuum. I felt empty, lost, soulless,void. The pain was unbearable. I had experienced well and truly that infinite feeling of falling in a bottomless pit. I let myself sink. I sank with my thoughts and drowned in his.

I got busy with my life, but not a day went past when I never thought of him. I would lie in bed, my eyes staring at the ceiling and imagined him stuck on it. I would dream, I dreamt of flashes of light, I heard bells clanging, I heard bees buzzing. I would wake up perspiring, my clammy wet fingers would be numb, they longed to feel that sleek body. I began to see him everywhere. As I walked to my office, I would pick up coffee at the cafe around the corner, I saw him there, his skin gleamed under the lights. I thought I could sense him in the same office room as mine, I thought I could see him sit opposite me during meetings. His deemed presence was as overwhelming as my own imagination. I began to get a bit nervous about my mental well-being by this stage.I thought of him when I drove to work and back, I pictured him sitting on the vacant seat next to me. I pictured him distracting me as I drove. I tried hard to get my focus back on the road in front of me, the high beam lights ahead created a ghostly apparition, I thought I saw him ahead, looming large, black yet bright, magnified a hundred times over. I came to a grinding halt, I made up my mind. My life had to be sorted out now, I needed to get some order back, no longer was I prepared to live in a chaotic world filled with mirages and nonsensical images. I took a call.

It was close to ten months since I first saw him. I went back to the same mall where I saw him the last time, I knew he would be there, I knew he would wait or would he? Instinct said he would. I was excited, I never felt this way in a long time. I looked around, he was there. Our eyes met again, the sparks flew.My heart skipped a million beats as I neared him, I touched him gingerly, my hands quivered, there was sweat breaking on my brow. My tongue was tied, the throat was parched, but I was finally free. Free from guilt, free from chaos. I needed order and synchronization back in my life. It had been missing for a long time and I was on the verge of savoring it all over again. A few formalities had to be dealt with first, they were done. The formalities culminated into a bonding of two souls. Together we began our journey, two hearts began to beat as one.

He reads my mind, his mind is complex but his demeanour is simple. I am at ease with him, he captures me and he captures the world around us with ease. We communicate to each other seamlessly. I download my frustrations onto him and he uploads it unto himself. He is patient and watches my every move, I whisper softly into his ears at times, I scream sometimes, I shout most times. He takes it all. Like the Navi’s he connects to his kind with a duct and pulls out the much-needed information and emotion out from me and from this world. His words are music to my ears and I choose what music he can play to me, he continues to serenade me endlessly. Even now as I write this, he watches me, waiting for me to speak to him or punch him playfully. Together we browse the whole wide world, together we plot, together we plan, together we prioritize, together we act.

He is not just my love, he is a constant companion, a family member. Many say he is flashy, a bit expensive and he comes with a plan. I disagree, I made him mine with no plan so that I could roam the seven seas with him. Two wanderers, two messiah’s embarking on the journey of life.He stays protected and looks his dapper self in his Belkin jacket when we are out and about. He is my drug, an addiction. I have no regrets whatsoever with him in my life. I chose to have an affair, it remains one to remember, it remains one to last a good long time, he remains mine and I his. The ony difference we have is we are creations of two different creators. God made me, Steve Jobs made him. Of course he has a name and a surname, he is called the i-phone 3GS.

80 Responses to “An affair to remember…”

  1. A aniteresting tweet I got from Pritish Nandy re the iphone
    You mentioned your iPhone. Read this. http://bit.ly/aRpnbv

  2. Sharmila,

    Gosh I was on tenterhooks, galloping to reach the end of your post fast…and what an anti-climax !

    Excellent !!

    As regards LK, my Secy made another attempt today, but the organisers say it is not yet confirmed – will keep on trying and will let you know if I succeed

  3. Anand Khare Says:

    Good one.Boys should write to their girl friends in love messages ‘I wish I was your i-phone’.

    Anand

  4. Resplendent!!!!!

    I deliberately didn’t think you were talking of your husband…..there had to be a twist at the end…..

    Ok now,its a good time to check your color blindness if you haven’t till now….I got one of my answers wrong there…lets see what you can do…

    http://www.funstufftosee.com/colorblind.html

  5. I just got an email captioned ‘Only Britishers could have invented this Language’

    This is what it had

    Just think about it……very interesting.

    THE BEAUTY OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE UNDONE

    We’ll begin with a box, and the plural is boxes,
    But the plural of ox becomes oxen, not oxes.
    One fowl is a goose, but two are called geese,
    Yet the plural of moose should never be meese.
    You may find a lone mouse or a nest full of mice,
    Yet the plural of house is houses, not hice.

    If the plural of man is always called men,
    Then shouldn’t the plural of pan be called pen?
    If I speak of my foot and show you my feet,
    And I give you a boot, would a pair be called beet?
    If one is a tooth and a whole set are teeth,
    Why shouldn’t the plural of booth be called beeth?

    Then one may be that, and three would be those,
    Yet hat in the plural would never be hose,
    And the plural of cat is cats, not cose.
    We speak of a brother and also of brethren,
    But though we say mother, we never say methren.
    Then the masculine pronouns are he, his and him,
    But imagine the feminine: she, shis and shim!

    Let’s face it – English is a crazy language.
    There is no egg in eggplant nor ham in hamburger; neither apple nor pine in pineapple.
    English muffins weren’t invented in England ..We take English for granted, but if we explore its paradoxes, we find that quicksand can work slowly, boxing rings are square, and a
    guinea pig is neither from Guinea nor is it a pig.

    And why is it that writers write but fingers don’t fing,grocers don’t groce and hammers don’t ham? Doesn’t it seem crazy that you can make amends but not one amend. If you have a bunch of odds and ends and get rid of all but one of them, what do you call it?

    If teachers taught, why didn’t preachers praught? If a vegetarian eats vegetables, what does a humanitarian eat? Sometimes I think all the folks who grew up speaking English could be running the danger of being called verbally insane.

    In what other language do people recite at a play and play at a recital?
    We ship by truck but send cargo by ship.
    We have noses that run and feet that smell.
    We park in a driveway and drive in a parkway.
    And how can a slim chance and a fat chance be the same, while a wise man and a wise guy are opposites?

    You have to marvel at the unique lunacy of a language in which your house can burn up as it burns down, in which you fill in a form by filling it out, and in which an alarm goes off by going on.

    And, in closing, if Father is Pop, how come Mother’s not Mop?

    I WOULD LIKE TO ADD THAT IF PEOPLE FROM POLAND ARE CALLED POLES THEN PEOPLE FROM HOLLAND SHOULD BE HOLES AND THE GERMANS GERMS!!!

    Quite absurd wasn’t it?????

  6. Lakshmi Jag Says:

    Now it is time you publish your first book….brilliant. I can completely relate to your feelings as I am hooked on to my iPhone. Sad but true

    Lakshmi

  7. Aishwarya Says:

    Reminded me of the song ‘Enna ithu enna ithu’ from the movie ‘Nala Damayanti’ – one of my favorites. Dedicating it to you and your love.:) Cute post, Sharmila.

  8. parmaatma Says:

    Sharmila,

    Sorry, I couldn’t quite tune into the frequency. Perhaps, I am not in the appropriate frame of mind.

    What is it about? It reads like the story-board for a 20 second advertisement!

    🙂

  9. parmaatma Says:

    Hmmm…

    What does an iPhone do that I cannot?

    Okay let me do a SWOT on Sudhir Vs an iPhone:

    Common Strengths of both: Both are audi-visual. Both don’t cross-connect. Both record everything. Both can replay. Both don’t gossip. Both are hard to get. Both are warm and consumable. Both are strong and muscular.

    Weakness: Sudhir’s muscles have slipped off the rib-cage to the tummy.

    Opportunity: iPhone will be out of date by 2012. Sudhir is already outdated.

    Threats: Sudhir cannot be switched off at will. Sudhir catches viruses faster than the iPhone.

    Judgement: Hmmm… Buy an iPhone. Sudhir is settling underwater with a mermaid. 🙂

  10. Anand khare Says:

    when I read the article my first reaction was same as sudhir has reacted in SWOT analysis. And later I thought I may be better and more useful to some women if not all.then why to make myself inferior.

    However,i remain a fan of Sudhir.many are missing him at bigb blog like aishwarya and r k sehgal.i guess he is writing as birbal there.

    Anand

    • parmaatma Says:

      Hi Anand,

      No Anand. I am not writing on AB’s blog. I am not commonsense, Birbal, Akbar, Sarban or anyone. Those who know me recognize my style immediately. My names are either relevant to my comments or outright spoofs. Nothing in-between!

      Thanks for asking.

      Sorry Sharmila, this Iphone cross-connected! 😦

    • Aishwarya Says:

      Sharmila & Anand – Thanks lekin yeh sahi nahin hai. Mein ab apne aapko bhi wahaan miss nahin karti hoon! Dost hone ke naate mein yahin chahoongi ki log Sudhir ki gyaan aur achchai ko samajhein aur unki aadar aur sammaan karen. Jabse AB ne kahaan ki unki blog social network hain, mein samajhti hoon ki Sudhir ab kissi bhi naam se wahaan nahin likh rahen hain.:)

      • parmaatma Says:

        That is right Aishwarya,

        I haven’t written on AB’s blog since he made it clear that it is a social network. It is not about sharing personal beliefs. So doesn’t add value for anyone including AB himself. It is easier to understand what AB’s father believed in than to understand what AB believes in. For him that is too personal for a blog!

        I am claustrophobic.

      • Aish – Yes, I was a bit taken aback with the social networking description as well.

      • Aishwarya Says:

        Sudhir – Yes, I agree and understand.

        Sharmila – Ditto feeling.

  11. LOL, Sharmila, great post! A love that makes sense at all times, lucky woman you are!

  12. My Dear Sharmila,what a beautiful love story….ha ha…love it!

    Have a great day love…
    Saroj

  13. Kris Vasant Says:

    Sharmila, Nice! I love the way you have written this. Besides curiosity in all of us, it may evoke envy in your dear hubby:)

  14. parmaatma Says:

    On Liveliness…

    Kis ko hai mayassar, ye kaam kar guzarnaa
    Ik baankpan se jeena ik baankpan se marnaa

    … … … For whom is it possible to do it this way
    … … … Live in exuberance, and die in exuberance

    Dariyaa ki zindagi par sadqe hazaar jaane
    Mujh ko nahin gavara saahil ki maut marnaa

    … … … The life of a canyon is worth a thousand bows
    … … … I do not relish the idea of dying on a shore

    Saahil ke lab se puchho dariyaa ke dil se puchho
    Ik mauj-e-tah-nashin kaa muddat ke baad ubharnaa

    … … … Ask a silent shore, and ask the valley’s heart
    … … … When a deep hidden wave surfaces after a long time

    Jo zist ko na samajhe, jo maut ko na jaane
    Jeena unhin ka jeena, marnaa unhin ka marnaa

    … … … Those who won’t compromise with life, nor accept death
    … … … Life is indeed their life, death is indeed their death

    —Jigar Moradabadi

  15. Ohhh my God.. I was biting my nails, skipping a beat, smiling at times with those descriptions, a Mills and Boon romance stuck my mind.. eager to get to the end.. Alas!! wat a climax…. lucky Iphone for it got the most masculine description ever it can get!

    🙂 Ramya.

  16. Hi

    The info my Secy was able to extract today was that the awards ceremony is on 22 March and they expect to announce his award next week (waiting for some confirmation before they announce).

    Bye

    • The schedule state that the awards in on 30th???? How can they now say 22nd? This is confusing.

    • Veekay – I dont think 22nd can be right, pls let me know. Thanks

      • Hello

        It indeed is 22nd.

        The one on 30th is HK Intnl Film Festival awards, whereas on 22nd it is Asain Film Awards. Pls see the awards ceremony date under the title “CELEBRATING EXCELLENCE IN CINEMA” on flwg site:

        http://www.asianfilmawards.asia/2010/

        All the nominees for the Asian awards are Chinese, except Delhi 6 : Best Newcomer – Sonam Kapoor, while under Special Awards it says “Coming soon” ….this is where my ‘treasure hunt’ ends !!

        Hv a nice W/E

      • Veekay – Thank you. I was a bit confused I guess. Wishing you a happy weekend too..:)

  17. parmaatma Says:

    Coffee Break:

    Keh raha hai dariyaa se samandar ka sukuut
    Jis ka jitna zarf hai utna vo Khaamosh hai

    .. .. .. [sakuut = silence; zarf = capability/capacity]

    [Iqbal]

    Khaamosh ai dil bhari mehfil mein chillaana nahin achchha
    Adaab pehlaa kareena hai mohabbat ke Kareeno mein

    .. .. .. [Adaab = good manners; Kareena = condition]

    [Iqbal]

    Har ek se kehate hai ke “Daag” bevafaa niklaa
    Ye puchhe unse koi ke vo gulaam kis kaa thaa?

    [Daag Dehlvi]

  18. parmaatma Says:

    Oh, ok.

    I didn’t know it worked that way. Fine.

    My contention was it must be difficult to find them later if there are so many tags since the subjects on your blog are different everyday.

    In my case I put them under one tag with serial numbers for tracking them for progression. Sort of housekeeping! 🙂

  19. parmaatma Says:

    Sharmila,

    The reply on the tags got posted four slots up!

    ChaoticSoul? 😦

  20. Ramanathan Says:

    You made a romantic thriller out of a cellphone buy. Amazingly imaginative with the right amount of lilt. You should see ‘Karthik calling karthik’ where something similar has been achieved. Would love to read your review on this (provided u feel the flick was worth it). Nice to see Sudhir as himself after a long time.

    • Ramanathan – Good to see you back here and thank you. I am yet to see KCK, from what i hear it has tanked in the box office but lately most movies are. Yes, good to see Sudhir here too.

  21. I too love the i-phone and I don’t regret or feel guilty of being a part of this love triangle.

  22. wow! we both are sailing in the same boat Sharmila! Objects of our affections are different though.
    I still can’t forget my first car which was in Real a Black Beauty with blk leather interior and all amenities required and of course power steering,windows,seats etc etc. In my dreams I still see that my Blk Mercedes 420SEL driving around the World. I sold it for an upgrade Merce 500 S class special edition and got BMW 7th series and many more high end cars but it never gave me the same pleasure.
    Aah! who can forget one’s First Love !? The beauty of Everything First is quite remarkable and unforgettable.
    What do you say Sudhir!!?? 🙂

    • MonaLisa – Your objects of affection are on a different league altogether, from Merc to a BMW 7 series to other high end cars is as exotic as your name. Nevertheless, I can see you well and truly understand the passion..

  23. parmaatma Says:

    MonaLisa & Sharmila,

    I am flummoxed. Does that mean women feel the same passion for cars and phones, as they do for men?!

    Aaaaaaarrrrrggggghhhhh! 😦

    Look dearies, an iphone is for talking to your man… a car is for driving away with your man… you can’t talk to the iPhone, you need a man at the other end… you can’t put your arms around a car… you can’t say sweet nothings to a car and get a gift in return…

    If am wrong, I will grow that long pending beard that I have denied myself so far, and retire to the North Pole with the Nat Geo team!

    MonaLisa,

    I agree about the first love thing… very difficult to forget… seems idyllic… as if life has missed a train… as if life will never be the same again…

    Unless one is lucky… if one fine lucky day you meet the woman again many years later… on some remote railway station… with five children and an aging, wonky husband sitting on some old luggage…

    Then you realize that you have not missed much… it’s alright… life is not such a cropper after all… it could have been this…

    🙂

    • Lol Sudhir ! when did we say that we have Same passion for car,phone and men!???God !!!!!…. You men give way…. more importance to ourselves !!!
      ha..ha..could that passion not be more for car than a man!? can’t one prioritize other way around Car,iPhone and Man !? hee..hee…heee
      mmm….about that first love… you still would feel missing a train under that circumstance too. scenario could have been totally different if she would have been with you. Together, life could have been a different story-a love story rather than two separate something like life- with lost and broken dreams.

      • parmaatma Says:

        That does it MonaLisa… I give up…

        You will find me at the North Pole with my polar bears… I will be the one with the long white beard and the bald head…

        🙂

      • I hope you have enough warmers,fishing pole and extra bedding ! just in case ..for a visitor like me at North Pole to meet Swami Sudhiranand- bald headed with long…….white beard. 🙂
        BTW are you going to braid your beard or would leave it just like that !?

      • Swami Sudhiranand is at this stage better than Swami Nityanand.

      • parmaatma Says:

        What do you mean “At this stage”? Hey Bhagwan… inhe uthaa le!

        🙂

      • Lol…. 🙂
        Don’t forget to take some canned veg food with you for me and That can save some seals,fish,snow bears, penguins- if any, etc etc…..
        and you can play a big role saving environment too.
        Braiding is not a bad idea at all. that way you can stand out among them and it will increase your chances of they liking you and adore you more like an unharmful ‘Chinese Guy’.

    • Sudhir – There are a few more things besides the phone and cars with whom women maintain a wonderful relationship. Men of course are somewhere on it.

    • Sudhir – There are a few more on the love list, men are included.

  24. parmaatma Says:

    MonaLisa,

    Braided beard might give the whiskered seal a complex… not good to hurt the feelings of seals… save the seal for a good meal…

    You are welcome…

  25. Oh! Nice vignette there…! 🙂

    But, your comments section is more interesting than the post…! 😀
    I expected something mundane to come up did not expect an iPhone…!

    No wonder Steve Job is doing business…and producing versions after versions…!

    Let the you be one among the winners and for ever after be Made For Each Other…….!

    Happy Blogging! 🙂

  26. Haha! Very well written! 🙂

  27. shit…such a dead romantic u r…like u can write so much fr an i phone…m sure ur luv is gettin books written on him…

  28. well ur such adead romanntic…u can write so much for an i phone, m sure ur luv is gonna get books written on him…nice work…

Leave a Reply

