Greetings and an update….

Wishing you all a merry X’mas and a very Happy New year 2011. May the festive season be a harbinger of joy and peace for you all. Thank you for riding on the sleigh ( pulled by some excited reindeers ) and hearing the bells jingle on this journey with me. I hope Santa gets you all what you well and truly deserve.

I also thought I must share a link from the year end issue of Forbes India which recommends me ( supershamz on Twitter ) for my blog. Thank you Mr Pritish Nandy for the recommendation. Here is the link –

http://plixi.com/p/64880953

56 Responses to “Greetings and an update….”

  1. Sharmila,

    Wish you the same. Its been a wonderful year and today was a great day for me too.

    My booksite, “The Creator’s Testimony” is now online. The book is expected to release on 23rd March 2011. I insisted on a blog page to go on it, albeit without comments. Following is the link:

    http://thecreatorstestimony.com/?page_id=20

    Do check it out. Its a tribute to what you have inspired me to do! Abstract the scriptures for the general readers.

    Keep it up. And Thank you for the appreciation and support. Did you check the new post in the mail?

    • Fabulous Reader!! My heartiest congratulations on this. Thanks much for your greetings as well..

    • Reader,

      Just checked out the link that you have posted here. I missed out on reading your posts on the Upanishads. They need to be read and re read and understood well for me to express my views. I don’t wish to comment upon them without delving deep into them and understanding all of it fully.

      The website is very good. I did read the pages on ‘virtue’ ‘values’ and ‘ethics’
      Kudos to you, for this great endeavor!

      Shubha

      • Thank you Shubha and wish you a very happy new year.

        You can read all of the Upanishad posts if you click on the Reader’s Digest category on Sharmila Says.

        I am enjoying doing the abstracts.

        Would love to discuss the subjects whenever you feel.

      • Shubha,

        This is from my book “The Creator’s Testimony”…

        I have come to believe so many things about so many things – that I am often afraid of the singularity of my person!

        I spend my life in such inquiry! This anxiety drives me to destroy all that is not I, me or mine!

        Surely it is from this duality that fear arises! Dvitiya vai bhayam bhavati…

        I do not seek the pleasures of sorrow, delight, humor and honor when I am alone in silent meditation! When I am entranced by the subjects of this creation!

        What else is dearer to me that is not me?

    • Lakshmi Jag Says:

      Reader…just checked your link and will be a regular visitor. Thank you for your efforts

      • Thank You too Lakshmi and every one who is a part of this journey. Its just begun. And thanks to Sharmila who made it happen. I never imagined it would be received so much enthusiasm on a blog.

  2. Muraliraja Says:

    Merry X’mas Sharmila!
    My wish also goes to all the regular visitors of this blog πŸ™‚

  3. Lakshmi Jag Says:

    Sharmila…wishing you the same and may your blog continue to provoke us, make us think and take action

    Lakshmi

  4. Sharmila,

    Merry Christmas! I checked the link on Twitter yesterday! Congratulations! Well deserved too!

    Shubha

  5. Reader, Aishwarya, Anand, Monalisa, Melwyn, Saurabh, Lakshmi and all friends here,

    Merry Christmas! May you have a wonderful year ahead!

    Shubha

  6. Merry X-mas to all…

  7. Hello Madam,

    I got through your blog through Big B’s blog.
    Liked your comments.
    look forward to follow you Blog (Have added up in my blog roll )
    Wish you and your family Merry Christmas and happy new year.

    Regards
    Narendra

  8. Dear Sharmila,

    Wish You and all the followers of your blog Merry Christmas and A Lovely and Peaceful New Year 2011.

    Best Regards,
    Shambhavi

  9. Anand Khare Says:

    Congratulations Sharmila,

    On this recognition from faorbes.I have been following you on Twitter for some time now.

    Anand

  10. Anand Khare Says:

    Reader,

    Comgratulations on attaining official ‘writer’hood. Waiting for the book.Who is the publisher? Unable to reach the blog page.

    Anand

  11. Anand Khare Says:

    Thanks Shubhaji,

    I also wish a merry christmas and a happy new year 2011 to all EF regular here.

    Anand

  12. Anand Khare Says:

    Reader,

    Yes. Now it is functional. Good overview.Hope you get good book reviews.

    I wish the book would become a best seller. Good Luck.

    Anand

    • Thank you Anand,

      I have never written destinations on my journey plans. I can never stand still. This is the beginning of a new one. Lets see where this one goes…

  13. Watching Padosan on Zee Classic… an all time favorite… pacharathna natak mandali in action… Kishore Kumar, Mahmood, Sunil Dutt, Keshto, Mukri, Dhumal what a gang…

    Keshto: Loila opna mojnu ko jongle jongle me pukarta hai… gas..gas… gas…

    Kishore: Arre baangdu.. Majnu ka naam Qais tha.. bol Qais.. Qais

    Keshto: Gas

    Kishore: Qais

    Keshto: Gas

    … Hilarious…

  14. This is the scene in progress…

  15. Sharmilaji & all readers of your blog

    ******Merry Christmas*******

    Best Regards
    Rupam

    A card for all of you http://bit.ly/glqBNM

  16. Unique dates in 2011:

    1/1/11

    11/1/11

    1/11/11

    11/11/11

    and

    23/03/2011

    • Wow…the last date? πŸ™‚

      • Thats the day we start the countdown to your birthday… I am not sure of your birthdate… is it 06/04 or 09/04?

      • I am hoping that we can arrange the EF meet in that period…

      • Sharmila,

        Okay seacrhed back through the archives. Your birthday is on 09/04. I see that Lakshmi, Shubha, Aishwarya, MonaLisa, Melwyn, Ninad have been on your site long before I.

        I see that I have not wished you on the last B’day. Which means I am not even an year old yet on the site!

        And I was saying I am 9!

        Hope you’ll be in BLR on the day. We must arrange an EF meet in that week! Or if possible on the exact date!

  17. Mithilesh Aditya. Says:

    Dear Sir,

    with best regard’s and thanks.

    mithilesh

  18. Reader- sounds like a splendid idea!!

  19. Will put out a new blog in a jiffy…

    • jiffy… jiffy… jiffy… jiffy… jiffy… jiffy…

      • jiffy 1… jiffy 2… jiffy 3… jiffy 4… jiffy 5… chalo light gayi… ab hum generator lagate hain…

      • Sharmila,

        My holidays are getting over. I’ll have to go for a visit to the interiors soon. When will your jiffy get over? I cleaned all the book shelves, the reading table, the dressing table etc complete. I have just stopped sneezing.

        I start sneezing when I clear the dressing table. It has year old bills, medicines bottle caps, old carry bags, free toothbrushes, hotel room magnetic entry cards, CDs, DVDs, perfumes, T-shirts, hand kerchiefs, magazines and the corn flakes packet that could not go into the fridge.

        How long is a jiffy?

      • Jiffy , is over… one more coming out today. πŸ™‚

      • Sharmila,

        Please see mail too..

  20. Top 10 National troubles that plagued the nation in 2010 (in reverse order):

    10. Chinese, Pakistani and American insurgency in India

    09. Special Economic Zones & Ministry of Environment & Forests

    08. Maoist/Naxal/Separatist/Extremist and other home-bred Violence

    07. International, cross-border, sponcored, religious Terrorism

    06. Crime Rates growing faster than GDP

    05. Food and Industrial Exporters rackets

    04. Land grab

    03. Inflation

    02. Corruption and Money Laundering

    01. Absence of credible governments

    ===

    Top 10 ‘entertainers’ of 2010 who got prime time (in reverse order):

    10. Amitabh Bachchan, bollywood’s grand-paa

    09. Rajni Kanth, robo-antics in style

    08. Amar Singh, going mulayam for maya

    07. Obama, because he can!

    06. Headley, a CIA double agent in Pak working in Mumbai!

    05. Jairam Ramesh among maoists in the Tiger Reserves

    04. Barkha Dutt & Vir Sanghvi on-a-blow-it-all-job

    03. A Raja & Niira Radia, un-plugged 2G connections

    02. Suresh Kalmadi & Prince Charles at the CWG spectacle

    01. Sachin Tendulkar, the surgeon on the pitch!

  21. Sharmila,

    On the personal front the year has been reassuring in some ways and disappointing in some.

    You know, what I dislike most in an expat workplace? Dropping friends off at the airport who are moving out on TR. The attrition rate is currently very high in the ME. Dubai, for instance, is virtually deserted, pun intended.

    In the company we have seen an attrition of over 33% this year. In my own section its close to 50%.

    Some have been poached by other companies now that some of the infrastructure for major O&G projects in India is nearly complete. Like, Cairns India in Rajasthan and Reliance Gas.

    I have had 7 resignations in the last quarter. 3 of them were newly weds whose wives refused to stay alone in India and the guys were too young in the pecking order to get a family visa.

    I wonder why expats need to get married! They can have everything in the world without a marriage. Wives, children, houses, holidays… what else do they want?

  22. Issue of the day:

    Should the sedition law be repealed?

    Does dissent include right to demand a separate nation?

    Can inciting violence be proved under the Evidence Act?

    Does consipracy fall under sedition?

    Will all other suspects be tried under anti-terror acts if sedition is repealed?

    Why are session court judges allowed to make mistakes? If a High Court over-rules a session court judgment, does the concerned session cours judge lose any points?

    Why are government employees above the law?

Leave a Reply

